Cunningham, Rohrer & Turgeon Highlight RMAC Season Awards

Cunningham, Rohrer & Turgeon Highlight RMAC Season Awards

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (February 28, 2017) –  The Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference released its annual Women's Basketball Awards release Tuesday and much like the regular season, Colorado State University-Pueblo women's basketball dominated. Molly Rohrer earned RMAC Player of the Year honors, while Katie Cunningham received Defensive Player of the Year accolades. Head Coach Jim Turgeon was recognized as the RMAC's Coach of the Year.

Additionally, Tuileisu Anderson earned First Team All-RMAC honors for the second consecutive season. Rohrer was also First Team All-RMAC for the second season. Cunningham claimed a spot on the All-RMAC First Team. Senior Jaszymn Johnson garnered an Honorable Mention All-RMAC award.

As just a sophomore, Rohrer (Greenwood Village, Colo.) becomes  the first Pack Athlete to earn RMAC Player of the Year honors and the first conference player of the year at CSU-Pueblo since Sherry Vallejos in 1990-91. She is also the first sophomore to earn the award since Regis University's Diana Lopez in 2004-05. Rohrer has earned six RMAC Player of the Week Awards in 2016-17. She was tabbed Freshman of the Year in 2015-16.

Rohrer ranks fifth in the RMAC with 15.4 points per game. Her 51.9 field goal percentage ranks fourth. Defensively, she leads the RMAC with 2.2 blocks per game. This average places Rohrer 26th in D-II.

Cunningham earns Defensive Player of the Year honors in her first season with the Pack. She is the third Pack player to earn the Defensive Player of the Year Award in school history (Katie Nehf- 2014-15, Lindsay Black 2007-08).

The Pack's point guard continues to lead the RMAC in rebounding as she has for the entire season. Cunningham averages 9.1 boards per game. Her 1.8 steals per game ranks second in the RMAC. Cunningham also stands fourth in the conference with 4.1 assists per game.

Turgeon becomes the first Pack bench general to earn RMAC Coach of the Year honors in program history. In both of his two seasons at CSU-Pueblo Turgeon has led the Pack to a school record 26 wins. He is 52-8 over the last two years at CSU-Pueblo. He guided the ThunderWolves to their first RMAC Regular Season Championship since 1987-88.

Anderson ranked second in the RMAC with 16.3 points per game and 2.7 3-pointers per game. Anderson moved up to 11th all-time at CSU-Pueblo with 1,066 career points. She also made her 73rd 3-pointer of the season of the season Saturday. With this 3-pointer, Anderson now has the second-highest single-season 3-pointer total in school history, passing her former teammate and current Pack Assistant Coach Dee Arrieta (72).

Johnson ranks fourth in the RMAC in free throw percentage, making 86.7 % of her tries from the line. Johnson's free throw percentage stands as the second-best single-season mark in school history. She has averaged 10.3 points per game off the bench for the Pack.

The four student-athletes earning All-RMAC recognition sets a new school record for CSU-Pueblo.

Entering as the No. 1 seed, the ThunderWolves will play the No.8 South Dakota School of Mines in the first round of the RMAC Shootout tonight at 5:30 p.m. All tickets are general admission for tonight's RMAC Quarterfinal game at Massari Arena. The same ticket will allow fans access to the CSU-Pueblo Men's Basketball quarterfinal game against Colorado Christian University at 7:30 p.m.

– 30 –

As a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, Colorado State University – Pueblo competes in 22 varsity sports in NCAA Division II intercollegiate athletics.