Williams recognized as NCAA Elite 90 Award winner for third time

Williams recognized as NCAA Elite 90 Award winner for third time

PITTSBURG, Kan. (March 13, 2018) - Colorado State University-Pueblo senior Derrick Williams (Columbia Falls, Mont.) was recognized as the 2018 NCAA Division II Men's Indoor Track and Field Elite 90 Award winner Thursday prior to the NCAA Division II Indoor Championships. Williams is just the second three-time winner of the award at the Division II level since the program began in 2009-10.

Williams was also the recipient of the honor at last year's indoor championships and at the 2016 NCAA Division II Outdoor Track and Field Championships. Billy Brickmueller of University of Sioux Falls, also a cross country and track and field student-athlete, is the only other three-time winner, male or female, at the DII level. 

The senior owns a 3.99 GPA, while majoring in biology (biomedical sciences) and EXHPR (general exercise science).


All-American with the DMR, which finished second and as individual after placing fifth in the 3000m run ... National qualifier in the 3000m run and will compete in the 1600m leg of the DMR ... USTFCCCA All-Region (mile, DMR) ... Ran an NCAA provisional converted time of 8:07.79 at the Mines D-II Invite & Multi (Jan. 26) to rank 11th in Division II ... The DMR ran a converted time of 9:46.78 at the Mines D-II Invite & Multi, an automatic time that enters the national championships fourth in Division II ... Posted an NCAA automatic time in the mile with a mark of 4:01.79 at Colorado Invitational (Feb. 2) that finished the regular season seventh ... Also had a NCAA provisional time in the 800m run ... NCAA Elite 90 Award winner ... RMAC Summit Award winner. 


The Elite 90, an award founded by the NCAA, recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the national championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. The Elite 90 is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA's championships.

Eligible student-athletes are sophomores or above who have participated in their sport for at least two years with their school. They must be an active member of the team, traveling and a designated member of the squad size at the championship. All ties are broken by the number of credits completed.

For more information on the Elite 90 award winners, log on to NCAA.com/elite-90.

– 30 –

As a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, Colorado State University – Pueblo competes in 22 varsity sports in NCAA Division II intercollegiate athletics.