1961 NJCAA Basketball National Championship Team

1961 NJCAA Basketball National Championship Team

Outstanding Team
Inaugural Class (2009)
Era: Pueblo Junior College

The only national team championship won by an athletic program at CSU-Pueblo was won in 1961 when the Pueblo Junior College men's basketball team won the NJCAA national championship with a 79-66 win over Tyler (Tex.) Junior College.

The team boasted a stellar 34-2 record and a 9-1 mark in Empire Conference play, and consisted of such players as first-team all-American and regional tournament MVP Sam Smith, national tournament MVP and future NBA player, Bob Warlick, and all-region selections Norm Colglazier and Waymond Dean.  And the icing on the cake, coach Harry Simmons was named NJCAA coach of the year. 

The members of the team included:
Norm Colglazier
Bob Warlick
Sam Smith
Anthony Hegler
Isaac Pope
Charles Williams
Waymond Dean
Lennie Roybal
Greg Smith
Ron DeLeon
Jerry Hummitsczh
Jack Milam

Coach: Harry Simmons
Assistant Coach: Bill Kennedy
Managers: Caesar Guitierrez, Pete Gray, Howard Snyder