Podlacha and DeHerrera named Pack Athletes of the Week presented by Mobile Record Shredders

Podlacha and DeHerrera named Pack Athletes of the Week presented by Mobile Record Shredders

PUEBLO, Colo. (April 5, 2017) - Colorado State University-Pueblo's Nikol Podlacha (So., USAFA, Colorado) and Preston DeHerrera (Sr., Centennial, Colo.) have been named Pack Student-Athletes of the Week, presented by Mobile Record Shredders.

Podlacha recorded her first collegiate victory when she won the discus throw at the CSU-Pueblo Open Sunday with a mark of 43.46m.

The personal best ranks 39th in Division II this season and beat out 13 other competitors in the event. Saturday, the sophomore finished third in the hammer throw with a distance of 48.33m.

On the men's side, DeHerrera helped the Pack to a 1-1 week and a colossal upset of Westminster. He totaled seven ground balls and two caused turnovers.

The LSM corralled three ground balls and forced a turnover as he helped the Pack beat the Griffins 14-12. The Pack's upset win over WC helped them set a new program wins record at 4-4.

He followed up this effort with four ground balls and a caused turnover against Colorado Mesa.

DeHerrera ranks fourth in the RMAC with 3.29 ground balls per game. He stands seventh in the RMAC with 1.14 caused turnovers.

The track and field team travels to Boulder, Colo. Apr. 7-8 and compete in the Colorado Invitational.

The Pack men's lacrosse team has this week off before returning to the field Apr. 13 versus Maryville (Mo.) in the final home game of the season.

– 30 –

As a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, Colorado State University – Pueblo competes in 22 varsity sports in NCAA Division II intercollegiate athletics.

Past Pack Athletes of the Week
Mar. 29 - Jacquelyn Porman/Blake Foerster
Mar. 22 - Bailey Hughes/David Gunther
Mar. 15 - Andrea Tuck/Men's DMR
Mar. 8 - Gabby Moreno/Kyle Lazcano
Mar. 1 - Stefany Busch/PT Garcia
Feb. 22 – Taylor Long/Nelson Kahler
Feb. 15 - Tatianna Clanton/Rico Spikes
Feb. 8 - Tuileisu Anderson/JaCobi Jones
Feb. 2 - Sydni Riley/PT Garcia
Jan. 25 – Katie Cunningham/Dante Carter
Jan. 18 – Molly Rohrer/Nelson Kahler
Jan. 11 – Jaszymn Johnson/Kyle Fantin
Dec. 15 – Malin Wallmon/Thomas Staines
Dec. 7 – Molly Rohrer/Nelson Kahler
Nov. 30 – Katie Cunningham/Mark Williams
Nov. 25 - Miriam Roberts/Marcelo Laguera
Nov. 16 - Megan Schultz/Joseph Jones
Nov. 9 - Laikyn Koss/Marcelo Laguera
Nov. 2 - Mariangel Perez/Aaron Strunk
Oct. 26 - Alison Darr/Rex Dausin
Oct. 19 - April McDonough/Brandon Payer
Oct. 12 - Rianna Lockhart/Bernard McDondle
Oct. 5 - Katie Burnett/Derrick Williams

Sept. 28 - Sandra Grimaldo/Kyle Rosenbrock

Sept. 21 - Elena Michalski/Emery Taylor
Sept. 14 - Miriam Roberts/Jake Ice